Back to normal

During our first winter snow storm, I put the truck into 4 wheel drive while I drove around getting things for my wifes birthday. While backing out of a parking lot I heard a loud crunching noise coming from the font axle. I had a scheduled maintenance appointment coming up so I arranged for an appointment a few days later. It turned out the left front axle shaft fell apart. Oh, it was to be covered under warranty thats not my issue.  The problem I have is that it wasn’t able to be fixed that day.
They were great about it all and arranged for and paid for a rental vehicle. Imagine my horror when Enterprise came and picked me up in a Dodge Avenger.  I try to be open minded about things so I accepted it as my rental.
It was a well equipped vehicle, and my wife was looking forward to being in a car again. Me, not so much. It seemed to me to be nothing more than an updated K car. The interior felt like plastic junk. I really didn’t like it.
It wasn’t until tonight when I was out driving with the stereo cranked up loudly, feeling the solid frame of a truck beneath me once again that everything felt like it was back to the way it is supposed to be.
I like my truck.

5 Responses to “Back to normal”

  1. Shawn Says:

    Friggin Fords…I dumped mine for a dodge…

  2. LOTGK Says:

    I just recently took a 2010 Dodge Avenger to Gatlinburg, Tennessee for a trade show. Travel distance was 580 miles to the hotel door. The West Virginia mountains were very rough on the car. It had very little pep, and could barely stay at the 70 MPH speed limit.

    The steering was loose, almost as loose as a $20 dollar hooker. The room in the drivers seat was cramped. Very little head room, almost zero leg room, and the sitting position was lousy.

    I would not recommend a Dodge Avenger.

  3. dooohhead Says:

    Shawn…I have no doubt your experience with Ford was not great, as I witnessed it with you, but a Dodge simply can’t be the answer to that…sorry.
    Patrick, that is what I found as well. It was a gutless piece of crap. Truth be told, I felt a little dirty afterwards. This Avenger that I had was fully equipped, interior-wise, very similarily to my truck…Hey wait a minute Patrick, don’t you drive a Jeep (owned by Chrysler, which owns Dodge)? All of the interior controls felt very cheaply made too. I just didn’t like it.

    • LOTGK Says:

      Yes, all I drive are Jeeps. My 2002 Wrangler has better control than the rental Avenger I had. The Jeep controls are quite rugged, not a plastic feel to them. My Cherokee is very smooth, roomy, and the controls are tight and sturdy.

  4. hazmatshipping.us Says:

    Truly no matter if someone doesn’t be aware of after that its up to other visitors that they will assist,
    so here it occurs.


Leave a Reply

