Ubuntu 9.10 and Flash

As some of you who use Ubuntu (and have installed the latest 9.10 version) Flash (and apparently Java) doesn’t work out of the box as it were. I’ve noticed it, and was annoyed by it but not enough to actually do anything about it. I only go looking for solutions to problems in the Ubuntu forums as a last resort because frankly, they are a pain in the ass. You have to sift through replies made to questions and problem reports that have no use in coming up with what the actual problem may be and the solution to it. So the issue with Flash/Firefox/Ubuntu/AMD 64 systems never really bothered me enough to looking for a solution. Luckily for me I just happened to find one while reading the latest ingest of RSS news items.

BTW I use Liferea RSS news reader. At first I was a little put-off with the way it works but I am now getting used to it. It comes setup by default to aggregate many IT/Ubuntu news feeds so I kept those and added several local RSS feeds. My only problem with it really is that I don’t seem to be able to keep up with it regularly. So when I actually do get back to it, there are hundreds and hundreds of news items that I really have no interest in anymore as I’ve likely read about them somewhere else. Since I’ve been on vacation though I have been checking it fairly regularly and am quite enjoying it. If you use Ubuntu, download and give it a shot, its pretty good.

Ok, back to my problem here. I came across the following blog entry by a Linux user who had been experiencing the same problems and was annoyed that people were blaming the problem(s) on the software providers (Adobe, Java). He wrote up a simple set of instructions explaining how to remove the crap that may be there now, and how to replace it with something that actually works from Adobe and Java. I followed the Adobe instructions and everything with regards to Flash works fine now.

This is the kind of information I desire when I have a problem. The instructions are simple and easy to follow. No complex explanations about crap you don’t need to know about, just a simple how-to with easy instructions to follow. I don’t know who the author is, but sir/madam, I applaud your efforts.

Leave a Reply

