Books and Reading

I have recently been reading alot about the happenings that are to occur in the year 2012.  The Mayan mythologies (their calender ending, etc), the astrological events (“…the dawning of the age of Aquarious…”) and even the astronomy-related “facts” (solar maximums, etc).

I recently took a break from all of that and actually read an older science fiction novel by Isaac Asimov, “Nemesis”.  The idea of reading fiction again after reading alot of non-fiction really didn’t appeal to me.  I was in the used book store with my wife, who had accummulated such a large credit, that the owner almost demanded we buy something more before he would accept anything more from us.  With us cleaning up the house in preparation for selling it, we sold boxes of books to the used book store and donated even more to the local library, so the credit we now had was alot more than he usually allows people to attain. 

I went straight to the non-fiction section of the store only to find it very small and uninteresting.  I just happened to glance at the science fiction section as I walked by and noticed the Asimov book.  I grabbed it only because there has always been huge accolades for his books and his science finction.  In the same section was a book called “The Holy Blood and the Holy Grail”.  Ever since I read all of Dan Brown’s book I’ve also had an interest in all things “Templar” and grail related.  I’ve also read several books on those topics, some fiction, some not.  So I thought this book (The Holy Blood and the Holy Grail) was yet another work of fiction based on the Templars.  Apparently I was mistaken.  After finishing Nemesis I started reading it last night and was pleasantly surprised to learn that it wasn’t fiction but, so far, an account of a group of peoples’ research into the topic.  I think I now vaguely recall that Dan Brown’s book was based on an older book on the subject.  I think this was it.  I’m looking forward to reading this one.

On my list of books to read…The Bible Codes, books one and two.  I borrowed them from my wifes friend.

Oh I was amused to notice the name of the section, in the book store of where these 2012 books are.  Its titled “Alternative Knowledge”.  Other books in the section are Wicca related and UFO related.  Amusing!

Posted in At Work. 1 Comment »

One Response to “Books and Reading”

  1. Ian Says:

    Dan Brown was sued for plagiarism by the Holy Blood Holy Grail authors but won, because of just this distinction. His book was fiction but HBHG was presented as a history book and history can’t be copyrighted.

    Now not to give away the ending or anything, but one thing I’ve always suggested is that the Holy Blood Holly Grail authors were very Eurocentric and they lose track of the grail after 1314 and Bannockburn. When you get to that point, you might want to consider following up with Michael Bradley’s book, Holy Grail Across the Atlantic, if you can track down a copy.


Leave a Reply

