Ubuntu, its been awhile

I know, I know, I frequently talk about how I use Ubuntu instead of Windows at home, but this is not going to be one of “those” posts.  Lately whenever I need to find out something is about the only time I go and use my home computer.  Its rare that I spend any time on it doing anything “fun”.  This past Saturday I sat down in front of the computer, rebooted into Ubuntu (my son is always using Windows XP on it), did the obligatory update and then just played.  I loaded up a music player that I had installed but never used before and I can’t even remember the name of it.  It was simple, easy to use and was great.  I created a playlist by dragging and dropping files onto it, saved the play list, reordered things, again it was simple and great and I can’t even remember its name.  I installed a Gnutella client and rediscovered the joy of downloading (not!) pirated music.  As much as people bitch and complain about doing this (downloading music), I now want to go out and buy a whole bunch of music CD’s to have as a direct result, so I would think that would be a good thing for the music industry.

While my selected music was playing in the background, I enjoyed downloading themes and window adornments and changing the way my machine looks.  I’ll have to try and grab a screenshot for you sometime to show you what it looks like.

We are in the process of refinishing my sons ex-bedroom.  He has moved down into the basement for more privacy so we are trying to clean up his old room and make it our computer room.  We bought some paint yesterday, I’ve finished filling and sanding the walls, now it needs a good scrubbing then we can paint.  Maybe I’ll get to that tonight.

Oh and a big shocker…my mother now is on the Internet.  Way to go Mom!

Leave a Reply

