What the hell’s been going on?

My sister gave me shit the other day for not keeping up on my blogging. I’ve been away from it for so long, it feels wierd trying to do some writing again. So what have I been doing that has caused me to neglect my blogging, well, as sad as it may seem, work has been keeping me busy. My daily routine changed, I don’t know when or why, but I actually started working as soon as I got in the door. Before I would relax a bit, have my coffee, check out the news on the internet, write a blog entry, then get to work. It just seemed, at some point, more of a chore to write an entry than ever before. I remember making a concious effort to reduce the size of my blog entries. It got too easy to just start blathering on about anything then realizing that you have well over a screen-full of an entry. I try not to torture you my loyal readers with long entries that, at least for me, would take a long bit of time to read.

So, I’ve been able to write a whole paragraph, so far, without telling you what I’ve been doing, other than working. I’ve been fostering an interest in photography. I joined an online community called Eye Fetch. Its a place to post your pictures, and in some cases have them judged in contests. I have been enjoying posting pictures and critiquing others pictures. I’ve learned alot, but everytime I think I’ve learned something and have taken pictures utilizing that knowledge, it has somehow turned upside down on me. Whats also frustrating is that I don’t do much, or go anywhere interesting, so the opportunities of taking pictures, is greatly reduced, so I try to be as spontaneous as I can. I try to take my camera with me wherever I go. I get some interesting shots, the odd time but still nothing compared to the other people on this website.

I’ve also been playing around with an alternate operating system for my computers at home. I mentioned Ubuntu before, but it wasn’t until just recently that I got it working on my “main” computer. Its hard disk was almost full, and with my son downloading “stuff” constantly from the internet, it was doomed to failure or “full-ure” at any time. I got an external, 250Gb drive and got him to move over all of his music and movies, and I moved over all of my music, movies and pictures onto this new drive, I was able to free of a 6 Gb drive that I had in the computer that was hosting some of the movies that we had. This allowed me to install Ubuntu on it, and make the computer a dual-boot machine. So, my son still gets to use his Windows (and I may still use it for working at home) but now I get to play with Ubuntu and learn Linux. Ubuntu has been very popular lately, being mentioned in many (online only?) news articles and “Techie” websites. I’ve enjoyed playing with it. I learn something new everytime I use it. It can be frustrating at times, trying to get comparable stuff (as on Windows) to work on it, but it seems all the more satisfying when you realize that you’ve paid nothing for it, and nothing for any of the software that you have access to, which again comparing to Windows, is quite extensive. Its come a long way, but still has a long way to go before it can be called “easy to use”, and “mainstream”. So far though for me, its been good, I’ve enjoyed using it.

My wife is back working again. That always seems to make our financial situation a little better and less tight. We’ve had some issues with my 17 year old son lately, and in alot of cases, it seems day to day. I think he went through a bit of a rough patch too, but enough about him. My patience is wearing thin with alot of stuff. I hate waiting for others, and for others to wake up, or to get ready to do something. When I want to do something, I just want to be able to go and do it. I hate doing things by myself, but sometimes, for my own sanity, I have to just go and do something. It feels like I’ve spent alot of my life waiting for something, or someone. You end up waiting to do things until “the kids are all grown up”, of until you have enough money, or whatever. My kids ARE all grown up (or the next best thing to it), my wife and I should be able to go and do whatever the hell we want to, whenever we want to. We are planning on moving into the city next year, hopefully that will open up more new and interesting activities that we could participate in. Who knows, maybe we could take up dancing lessons or something. I’d like to see us start working on getting some hobbies up and running. My wife said she was interested in painting, so we went and bought her everything that she needs to do so, but she hasn’t the time to do it, and I’d like to get more serious with photography, maybe buy a new “better” camera, a DSLR perhaps. We’ll see, I just hate sitting around doing nothing and knowing no one.

Well thats enough of a book for today. I’ll try to be more brief, and to do an entry everyday. Oh and Happy Birthday to my niece and congratulations to her for getting her temporary drivers permit (yesterday, on her birthday). Way to go Stefi!

Leave a Reply

