Casual day

Doooh’s Picture of the Day
Do the clothes a man wears, actually make the man? As much as I am against that sentiment, I am believing it’s true. I’m seeing examples of it here at work and it bothers me, especially considering that everyone that I work with directly, don’t conform to such ideals. Everyone here, in development wears typical casual clothes, jeans, t-shirts, etc and anytime anyone wears anything differently, the general consensus is that that person is looking for a job and that they have an interview that they are going to. I don’t know what it is, but I am getting sick of just wearing jeans and t-shirts to work, although my wardrobe doesn’t contain anything else at this time. Maybe i’m still going through that “I need a change” feeling, and this is just another outlet that has presented itself. I guess what also bothers me is that it appears that our office is such that if a person were to wear nice clothes that things will happen for that person. I’ve always been under the impression that it doesn’t and shouldn’t matter what clothes you wear, but that your performance is what determines a persons outcome within the company, but right now I don’t believe that for this company. There have been no obvious statements to that affect, but whenever I have in the past worn a suit, or at least just some sort of dress clothes, careful note has been taken by the upper echelon and statements have been made as to my reasons for wearing such clothes, alluding to things like I stated previously, “oh you’re looking for a job”, or “you’re trying to get a raise”. Your initial reactions to such statements is to discount them as nothing more than simple bunk, but you know what, maybe thats exactly the intent. Maybe I do want a raise, or maybe I am looking for another job. So what?

I think I need to buy some new clothes…

JOKE OF THE DAY

Once upon a time, there was an officer of the Royal Navy named Captain Bravado who showed no fear when facing his enemies. One day, while sailing the Seven Seas, his lookout spotted a pirate ship approaching, and the crew became frantic. Captain Bravado bellowed, “Bring me my red shirt!”

The first mate quickly retrieved the captain’s red shirt, and while wearing the brightly colored frock, the Captain led his crew into battle and defeated the mighty pirates. That evening, all the men sat around on deck recounting the triumph of earlier. One of them asked the Captain, “Sir, why did you call for your red shirt before battle?”

The Captain replied, “If I were to be wounded in the attack, the shirt would not show my blood. Thus, you men would continue to fight, unafraid.” All of the men sat and marveled at the courage of such a manly man’s man. As dawn came the next morning, the lookout spotted not one, not two, but TEN pirate ships approaching. The crew stared in worshipful silence at the Captain and waited for his usual orders.

Captain Bravado gazed with steely eyes upon the vast armada arrayed against his ship, and without fear, turned and calmly shouted, “Get me my brown pants.”

Posted in At Work. 1 Comment »

One Response to “Casual day”

  1. HG Says:

    Get some boots!!!! : )


Leave a Reply

