The Pain of it all

Doooh’s Picture of the Day
I think I over-did things over the weekend. My body just doesn’t work that way anymore. Two and a half hour lawn cutting, up and down the grade that is our property, wreaked havoc on my back. I was attempting to do in one day that I’ve been taking two to do usually. I was almost done, and would have finished but I got called in for dinner and I knew once I stopped I wouldn’t be able to continue. And I didn’t, I got my son to finish. So then I was sitting there and I remembered it was my sisters birthday, so I took the phone and went outside to sit and talk with her but she wasn’t home. I then noticed my son and his girlfriend outside playing badminton, so I ended up staying out there for awhile playing that with them.

Oh this was funny. As we were playing, we all turned around, and there sitting watching us were two ducks. Yes, ducks! Our next door neighbour, who fancies himself a bit of a farmer has taken up raising animals here and there. Last year and the year before it was cows, this year so far it has been goats and ducks. I guess they heard us playing and decided that they wanted to watch. I joked that they wanted to join in by becoming the “birdie” themselves and when my son went to grab one to hit it over the net they took off. Oh he was’nt really going to hit it, but he was chasing them back. Apparently these were the second set of ducks that they’ve owned this year. The other set ran away…literally…They have their wings clipped so that they can’t fly away, so I imagine that if they did “run away” that they didn’t last too long what with all of the wolves and coyotes around. Imagine the coyotes coming across a pair of ducks in the woods? They must have felt like they were at a gourmet restaurant having the specials of the day…duck!

JOKE OF THE DAY:

A woman came up behind her husband while he was enjoying his morning coffee and slapped him on the back of the head.
“I found a piece of paper in your pants pocket with the name ‘Marylou’ written on it,” she said, furious. “You had better have an explanation.”

“Calm down, honey,” the man replied. “Remember last week when I was at the dog track? That was the name of the dog I bet on.”‘

The next morning, his wife snuck up on him and smacked him again.

“What was that for?” he complained.

“Your dog called last night.”

Leave a Reply

