Mish mash

Doooh’s Picture Of The Day
I have my picture all picked out but now I have nothing to say. I stayed up too late last night playing around on Ubuntu. A guy at work tried it out and thought it was too slow for the machine he was installing it on. The machine was an old laptop that was even slower (CPU Speed-wise) than the PC I have it installed on at home, so he tried Xubuntu, which is a derivative of Ubuntu but with alot of stuff stripped out, which supposedly makes it faster. He offered to give me a copy to try it out, but I am more than satisfied with my install of Ubuntu that I declined his offer. The other day I was playing with the themes you can download and setup. I downloaded a bunch of different ones, along with a different set of icons. I mixed and matched them all up to come up with a nice window theme that is different, but not too bizarre. The icons I chose are the same ones (Noia) that I have installed for Firefox and ThunderBird, so everything is beginning to real nice (or at least I think so!).

I was out cutting the grass last night and decided to do the “hill-part” first. Whenever I do it, it really strains my back, but I plodded on and got about half way done (just that half of my yard) and the lawn mower stopped. I check that there was still gas in it, and there was, but for some reason I couldn’t get it started again. If I had got it going again, I would have finished but I couldn’t so I gave up. My back was just too sore.

My wife has been trying to get back into “work-mode” again. When she used to run the restaurant she was on her feet for like 16 hours a day, but ever since she hasn’t had a job where anything like that was necessary. Now she needs to be on her feet for at least 8 hours a day, which after not being on them for such a long time, she is having to get used to it once again. We got her some new shoes last weekend, and she says they seem to be ok so far. Its just getting used to it again.

Doooh’s Picture of the day explanation No its not a double exposure…I mean how can that even be done on a digital camera? No its not the ghost of old Uncle Waldo angry that I’m taking a picture of his beloved truck. I was in the middle of taking a picture and this guy walked into the shot, but he was very quick about it but I guess the camera “saw” him but only for a split second.

JOKE OF THE DAY

A customer at Green’s Gourmet Grocery marveled at the proprietors quick wit and intelligence.

“Tell me, Green, what makes you so smart?”

“I wouldn’t share my secret with just anyone,” Green replies, lowering his voice so the other shoppers won’t hear. “But since you’re a good and faithful customer, I’ll let you in on it. Fish heads. You eat enough of them, you’ll be positively brilliant.”

“You sell them here?” the customer asks.

“Only $5 each,” says Green.

The customer buys three. A week later, he’s back in the store complaining that the fish heads were disgusting and he isn’t any smarter.

“You didn’t eat enough,” says Green. The customer goes home with 20 more fish heads. Two weeks later, he’s back and this time he’s really angry.

“Hey, Green,” he says, “You’re selling me fish heads for $5 apiece when I can buy the whole fish for $3. You’re ripping me off!”

“You see?” says Green. “You’re smarter already.”

2 Responses to “Mish mash”

  1. HG Says:

    Ugh, I hope this mower isn’t going to die on you. Didn’t the rider just conk out?

  2. dooohhead Says:

    HG, ya it did, but I also haven’t looked into it further, so who knows, it may be alright now, or may be a minor tweak that I may need to do, who knows.


Leave a Reply

