Toronto trip – the beginning

Doooh’s picture of the day:
Our trip to Toronto started off as they all do, with a long drive to get there. Its about a 20-22 hour drive if you can drive straight through and not get lost of course. Typically I usually save my getting lost for when I’m trying to make my way through Montreal, but this time I guess I couldn’t wait. We were only in New Brunswick, maybe a half hour outside of Fredericton when my wife said she needed me to find a washroom. We had just passed a sign, which I thought said that the next exit had a gas station, etc. So when that next exit appeared I took it. To my amazement there was no gas station, actually there was nothing there, just farmland. It didn’t seem right, so I figured I would just pull a u-turn and get back onto the highway, no biggie. Thats when I discovered that there was no way to get back onto the highway going in the direction that I was going. I couldn’t believe it, so we continued on this road, it took us back to the highway twice but only had access to it in the opposite direction that I wanted to go, so I turned around once more and drove down the farmland road until we found, by shear luck, a gas station. My wife went in and did her business then bought a map. We could follow this road all the way to Fredericton where, we hoped we could get back onto the Trans Canada highway. It took a little longer, but we eventually got back on to the correct highway. I knew the trip was in peril when I got lost somewhere before Montreal.

By the time we got to Montreal my son, who was in the passenger seat beside me was in full sleep mode, and my navigator now in the back seat was having a difficult time keeping aware of all of the necessary signs to help me find our way through the maze of back-assed signage and detours. It always seems simple enough, you just follow highway “20- ouest”. I missed exit after exit due to poor signage. It came down to the last possible exit that I could take and the exit ramp was right where the sign was indicating that it was time, but also it was where there was merging traffic getting onto the highway, so I just couldn’t make it over to the right in time for the exit. That was our last hope. Now I was following highway 137 – ouest (west in French) and it was telling me that I was heading to the great US of A, which sorry to say I didn’t want to go. I pulled off the highway and we noticed one of those blue question mark signs, indicating tourist information, so we followed it hoping to get a map and figure our way back on track. The signs took us into a questionable area and eventually we found the tourist information office. We get out of the car only to discover that it is closed. Can you imagine? A tourist information office closed during the main tourist season?!! I couldn’t frickin believe it! Damn French Canadians! We headed back the way we came and got a map from a gas station and eventually made it back onto the correct road. I never make it through Montreal without getting lost either coming or going.

The rest of the trip to Toronto was fairly uneventful. We left at about 05:30 in the morning and pulled into the Mother in Law’s place at about 01:30 the next morning, so that was approx. 20 hours. My wife did a bit of the driving through New Brunswick, but when I took over after that, it was all me driving until we got there. We went straight to bed and woke up, had some breakfast, I went for a swim in their pool, then we left to go and stay at my Mothers place which was just north of Toronto. We stayed there for the rest of the first week. I got to meet my nephew for the first time. He’s 2, and he was going through some sickness in his mouth. He couldn’t eat or drink anything without it hurting him, so he was miserable for most of the time. Poor guy.

Oh, I think I need to explain the pics I have included in this post. My niece from my older sister, her youngest, who is just younger than my son. Her name is Stefani. She is very beautiful and I like to take her picture, but she never lets me. When my wife was there in February, she let my wife take all the pictures she wanted of her, but when I get there and try to take her picture, these are what I get. So, to get any kind of a picture of her, I have to get other peoples pictures, so here is one that I took from her blog page…”I told ya Stef, that if this is all you’re going to allow me to take, then I’ll post them anyways, so here they are!”

JOKE OF THE DAY

Jack’s mother ran into the bedroom when she heard him scream and found his two-year old sister pulling his hair. She gently released the little girl’s grip and said comfortingly to Jack, “There, there. She didn’t mean it. She doesn’t know that hurts.”

She was barely out of the room when the little girl screamed. Rushing back in, she asked, “What happened?”

“She knows now,” Jack replied.

2 Responses to “Toronto trip – the beginning”

  1. HG Says:

    Did you get lost on your way back through Montreal?? I have been lucky enough to visit the city, and loved it…but…never attempted to drive in it. I’m thinking I’d be lost as well!!

    Sounds like a fun vacation though. I’m glad you had a chance to get away…but…I have to admit, I did miss your blog and your comments on my blog while you were away!!! : )

  2. Phil McCracken Says:

    I’m kind of jealous. I have a huge hankering for a road trip, but with work and the price of gas, it’s cheaper to fly just about anywhere now.


Leave a Reply

