Further Disappointment

So, ok, I came in this morning and cruised through my blog quickly to see that everything was still alright. Lo and behold it wasn’t. Apparently Fotki, when you don’t pay them, dynamically generates URL’s to your images that are only good for that day. Everyday that you goto an image and choose to “share it” (from Fotki) the URL it gives you to use, is different. So trying to link a blog entry to any particular photo stored there, expires everyday. Thats useless to me. I was more than willing to put up with Ads on the pages that showed my photos, but having unreliable links to them is unacceptable for my purposes. So, I’ll not be using Fotki anymore. I’ll be back using my ISP’s alloted disk space. At least I can depend on the link to any photos sticking around for a few days. I’ll just have to limit the amount of photos I can put up there, as well as restrict the size of those images myself, but in the end I think it’ll be worth it. I may only have access to 10 Mb, but if I’m careful about resizing them, I’ll have plenty of room for pictures. I’ll just have to remove old ones as I continue to add new ones. No biggie.

JOKE OF THE DAY:

One day at the end of class little Billy’s teacher has the class go home
and think of a story and then conclude the moral of that story.
The following day the teacher asks for the first volunteer
to tell a story. Suzy said, “Sunday we load the chicken eggs on the
truck and drive into town to sell them at the market. Well, one Sunday
we hit a big bump and all the eggs flew out of the basket and onto the
road.” The teacher asks for the moral of the story. Suzy replies,
“Don’t keep all your eggs in one basket.”

Next is little Lucy. “Well, my dad owns a farm too and every weekend we
take the chicken eggs and put them in the incubator. Last weekend only
8 of the 12 eggs hatched.” The teacher asks for the moral of the story.
Lucy replies “Don’t count your chickens before they’re hatched.”

Last is little Billy. “My uncle Ted fought in the Vietnam war; his plane
was shot down over enemy territory. He jumped out before it crashed with
only a case of beer, a machine gun and a machete. On the way down he
drank the case of beer. Unfortunately, he landed right in the middle of
100 Vietnamese soldiers. He shot 70 with his machine gun but ran out of
bullets, so he pulled out his machete and killed 20 more. The blade on
his machete broke, so he killed the last ten with his bare hands”.
The teacher looks in shock at Billy and asks if there is possibly any
moral to his story. Billy replies, “Don’t mess with uncle Ted when he’s been drinking.”

3 Responses to “Further Disappointment”

  1. TheCatWhisperer Says:

    Try flickr the URLs they give you are real, and the free service doesn’t totatlly suck 🙂 For an extra $30/year you get a crapload or space & unlimited image sizes & over a gig of upload/month.. plus there are 3rd party tools for backin up your images (from teh site to your pc) so if they ever went under, you don’t loose everything…

    just FYI 🙂

  2. HG Says:

    Uh… okay… I am confused… but.. .okay… good luck with the changeover and the pics!!! : )

    *sends you a goose…

    … a Canadian one*

  3. LOTGK Says:

    Doooh, Flickr is a good service, stable URL’s and easy viewing. Buzznet.com is also a great service for photos. And one more, Photobucket, where they now give you 1 gig of space and 10 gig of transfer per month. Its pretty darn nice.


Leave a Reply

