Huh?

Doooh’s Picture of the Day:
In the local news here in Halifax, there is a black educator who has become fed-up with the public school system and what its doing to “his” kids, that he wants to have a “blacks-only” school. See this CBC news article about it. It kind of seems like a step backwards, especially when you consider how many people in the past (and likely even still today) fought (fight) to NOT be segregated from others because of race. Culturally speaking I can understand it, I guess, and not just for black people in that case then. Native kids in alot of places have their own school away from the public school system. For a place like Canada that is so diverse culturally, maybe all ethnic “groups” should be considered. Thats about where it starts getting ridiculous (to me anyways), to think that there should be some public sponsored school environment for each ethnic group that there possibly is here in Canada. I’m sure there are cultures from every country in the world represented here in Canada. And wouldn’t it be nice to have children from such countries have their own culturally diverse education system for them to learn in? How could this be possible? I guess I just don’t understand all of this, being a plain old “white boy” from Ontario, with, apparently, no unique culture from which to learn in.

This gets me thinking that today, families and society leaves too much to the school system for the education, culturally speaking, of our kids instead of the family or society. Kids are left to themselves too much or to the support groups of the internet (yes I’m being sarcastic when I say that). I’m starting to think that the family somehow has to take more responsibility for their kids, the trick is to figure out how to do that. This I can relate to, this I believe is what we’re going through with our dumb-ass teenager. This I think I can change. I mean, wouldn’t it be terrible if, lets say, the computer all of a sudden became “broken” and not fixable for awhile? I can live with that. I work on a computer everyday here at work. My wife would be fine. There would still be one available for her to play mhajong and Sudoku and solitaire on. Hmmm The ramblings of a frustrated parent of a angst-ridden-selfish teenager… Maybe all of the cordless phones’ batteries will all of a sudden disappear…or maybe the front wheel of a certain bicycle…or the cable to a certain TV or the game console cable to connect to a tv. I’m sure with a bit of creativity anything could be affected.

JOKE OF THE DAY:

A new teacher was trying to make use of her psychology courses. She started her class by saying, “Everyone who thinks you’re stupid, stand up!”
After a few seconds, Little Johnny stood up. The teacher said, “Do you think you’re stupid, Little Johnny?”
“No, ma’am, but I hate to see you standing there all by yourself!”

2 Responses to “Huh?”

  1. HG Says:

    I dunno… I think that would be a big mistake. I think we should be exposed to all cultures, colors, etc… to truly learn to appreciate and understand various differences between us. I think separation only polarizes people… ya’ know??

  2. LOTGK Says:

    Again, in the states, there is Grambling college, an all African American college. With all the strides put forward the past two hundred years, why stay in the past?


Leave a Reply

