Surprise day


Sibling #1

Dooooh!

Sibling #3

Yesterday was “Surprise Day” for me. I got home to find that my beloved truck (ya right) wasn’t there, but what was there was a brand new Pontiac G5 Pursuit. The lease on our truck is finished in June and my wife and I have been unofficially looking for something to replace it. Initially we thought we were just going to get an old beater to boot around in, but we have since noticed that the prices per month for these new vehicles are actually quite good compared to what we are currently paying for the truck. So, my wife spent the day out. She had gone to the dentist then went straight into Dartmouth to look at vehicles and to shop. She went to the dealership to ask about the Pontiac Pursuit because she liked the front of it better than the Cobalt, which we were initially looking at. The salesman, instead of asking if she was interesting in taking it for a test drive with him, told her to take it home for the night. So she did. The plan she formulated was that she would drive it from the dealership home, and I would take it back in the morning on my way into work the next day (today). And I did. It was a nice car to drive. It wasn’t overloaded with useless features. It was the 4-door sedan, blue with a 2.2L DOHC engine, with an automatic transmission. It was a little wierd to drive at first because I’m used to manual transmissions but I got used to it very quickly. It had satellite radio built-in, which I thought was kinda cool. It was comfortable on the road, it handled well. The steering was responsive and the braking was good. It didn’t have ABS, which is fine by me. I have it in the truck and it just seemed to cause the price of any brake work to be over inflated. It was a good sized car, lots of trunk space, good sized back seats. The front seats adjusted up and down as well as front to back and tilt front to back. I discovered that it had tilt steering, which was good because when I first got in it I couldn’t see the guages on the dash. I think this is a car we could get used to.

On top of the car yesterday, my wife had bought some fish for in the fish tank. A short while ago, the turtle that we had in the fish tank died. We had tlaked about getting some fish, so she did. I think they are guppies. So, as I usually do when I get home, I go and get out of my “work clothes” (lol). I opened the door to the bedroom and there sitting on the bed was a bird cage with a green budgie in it. Nice. We had been out shopping a few weeks ago and I casually mentioned to her that I might like to have a budgie some day. I guess yesterday was that day. I called him Ben. Ben the Budgie. I’ll get a pic of him up soon.

JOKE OF THE DAY:

Two Scotsman were discussing how far each could make a dime reach. They agreed to try it and meet a few days later to see who won.

The first guy bought a cigar, and smoked one-third the first day and saved the ashes. He smoked one-third the second day and saved the ashes. He smoked one-third the third day and again saved the ashes. On the fourth day he gave the ashes to his wife to use as fertilizer on her roses.

He told the other guy, “I know you can’t beat that for stretching a dime.”

The other Scotsman said, “I got you beat. I bought a Polish sausage for a dime, and the first day I ate one-half, and on the second day I ate the other half. The third day I used the skin for a condom, and the fourth day I took a shit in the skin and sewed it back up. The fifth day I took it back to the butcher and told him it smelled like shit. He agreed with me and gave me my dime back.”

Leave a Reply

