Boo-frickety-hoo

Doooh’s Picture of the Day

Kitty in a box

Just when I think I’m busy enough at work, I get busier. I’m working on some last minute data transformations for our latest customer when I get requested to do other work…for next week. I thought my brain was going to explode. That, on top of all of the defects that were accumulating because of the new stuff I was creating and the defects getting left behind with no time to work on them. Then, yesterday, all of the stuff I was previously working on was pushed aside so that we could make further drastic changes to the configuration we were already trying to finalise. Our new configuration tool that we’ve written in house has been the most amazing part of this entire process. I am able to work with the “designer” to come up with new ideas then within a few minutes actually experience them and see how it all feels, with actual customer data too. Its quite impressive actually but we still have lots of work to do on it. The customer data import has not been created yet, but when we have that, everything will just be magical.

Our son, for some reason completely hates my wife and I and can’t wait to move out, apparently. He just turned 17 and thinks he is going to be moving out this summer to go and live in another town and work and live with a few buddies and then thinks he is going to be finishing his high school at this town. I told him that he was not allowed to do this. He obviously isn’t mature enough, but regardeless he isn’t old enough. I told him he will finish high schoool where he is and when he graduates he can go and do whatever he wants, but that he is staying where he is until he graduates. He knew there was no arguing with me, but I suspect he thinks he will just do it anyways. Not if I can help it. I asked him what his hurry was to move out. He wouldn’t tell me, he hasn’t got the balls yet. I told him that he was going to hurt his mother and its that that will completely piss me off, but he didn’t care. Oh I’ll be pissed off at him regardless because I care about what happens to him, but it really pisses me off when he does stuff on purpose just to make his mother cry. He’s old enough, he can and may have to take a punch from me just to slap some sense into him. I won’t enjoy it, but neither will he. He comes across lately as nothing more than a spoiled rotten kid, who has had everything he has ever wanted and its still not enough. Not that we have much, but still, its never enough. Its true what they say. Family can piss you off in ways that no other person in the world can. I can see that now.

JOKE OF THE DAY:

Jim and Edna were both patients in a mental hospital. One day while they were walking past the hospital swimming pool Jim suddenly jumped into the deep end. He sank to the bottom of the pool and stayed there. Edna promptly jumped in to save him. She swam to the bottom and pulled Jim out.

When the hospital director became aware of Edna’s heroic act, she immediately ordered that Edna be discharged from the hospital because she now is considered to be mentally stable. The director went to Edna and said, “I have some good news and some bad news. The good news is that you’re being discharged because you responded so rationally to a crisis by jumping in the pool to save the life of another patient. Your action displays soundness of the mind.”

“The bad news is that Jim, the patient you saved, hung himself in the bathroom with his bathrobe belt right after you saved him. I am so sorry, but he’s dead.”

Edna replied, “He didn’t hang himself. I put him there to dry. When can I go home?”

Posted in At Home. 1 Comment »

One Response to “Boo-frickety-hoo”

  1. Krista Bowman Says:

    Yo John
    I really like your site so far. That joke was really funny.


Leave a Reply

