Sexual preference in the workplace

Doooh’s Picture of the Day

The day light moon.

I had an arguement with the lady I give a lift to everyday, this morning. She was talking about the MuchMusic TV show VJ Search, which apparently is like American Idol in that contestants vie for a VJ job at Much Music and the viewers of the show vote for their favorite. Of course I don’t watch this show, nor do I watch much of Much Music in general, but I happened to be flipping through the channels one day and stopped on Much to see what it now was like (compared to years ago when I actually did watch it) and this show was on. The main focus of this particular scene was of this obviously gay guy bitching and complaining about some or one of the other contestants. He was one of those “obvious gay guys” who slurr their speach and have that “Queer Eye for The Straight Guy” flaunt and behavior about him. Well, back to the argument. She was talking about how in this show they brought back some guy that was previously voted off to vie for the job against this gay guy and then won over the gay guy. She was all upset about this and was spewing forth “sexual discrimination”, etc. I tried to tell her that maybe thats why the gay guy did lose, was because of this behavior he had about him. If a company is trying NOT to be Pro Gay or Pro Hetero, (or Pro anything else) then the whole issue of sexual preference shouldn’t be any part of the consideration, which at least for me makes perfect sense. I’m not hired or fired because of my Hetero sexual tendancies, and neither should a gay person have to put up with that either. So how should a company react to someone who is “obviously gay” or for the same matter, “obviously hetero” (if there was such a way to flaunt this, I don’t know)? If you’re trying to stay neutral about the whole sexual preference thing in the workplace then you conversly shouldn’t choose someone because they are obviously gay in the same way that you wouldn’t fire someone just because they are obviously gay. Its like when my son decided to shave his hair into a mohawk and at the same time look for a job. I told him that because of his appearance people are going to take one look at him and assume the worse. They aren’t going to make an attempt to see if he is a nice guy or not and to see if he is worthy of a job interview, just because of his haircut. I beleive, and perhaps rightly so that the same kind of attitude was expressed against this gay guy on this TV show not because he was gay, but because of the way he flaunted it. I’m sure Much Music couldn’t give a rats ass what his sexual preferences were but to have someone expressing any and at the same time representing the company in a VJ way is not necessarily something they may want to promote. Someone’s sexual preferences (I think) shouldn’t come into play at all when it comes to the workplace. I’ve worked with a gay guy before and I had no problems with him. It was never an issue, he was as professional as was required by his job position and that was it. His being gay never came up in conversations, he wasn’t flaunting it just like my being hetero never came up in conversations and nor was I flaunting that. According to this woman, he was the best candidate for the job, in that he was very knowledgeable of music, etc. Well maybe he did lose out on the job because of his flantingly gay behavior. Thats not saying he didn’t get the job because he’s gay. Being gay really has nothing to do with it, its the flaunting of his sexual preferences regardless of whether it was “gayness” or not that, I think, caused him to miss out on the job. I think if there was some hetero guy flauning his “hetero-ness” in a similar manner as this gay guy was, then he likely wouldn’t have gotten the job either.

JOKE OF THE DAY:

A business man got on an elevator. When he entered, there was a blonde already inside who greeted him with a bright, “T-G-I-F.”

He smiled at her and replied, “S-H-I-T.”

She looked puzzled and repeated, “T-G-I-F,” more slowly.

He again answered, “S-H-I-T.”

The blonde was trying to keep it friendly, so she smiled her biggest smile, and said as sweetly as possibly, “T-G-I-F.”

The man smiled back to her and once again, “S-H-I-T.”

The exasperated blonde finally decided to explain. “‘T-G-I-F’ means ‘Thank Goodness It’s Friday.’ Get it, duuhhh?”

The man answered, “‘S-H-I-T’ means ‘Sorry, Honey, It’s Thursday’.”

Leave a Reply

