Anger Management

There aren’t too many things in life worse than the anger and general pissed-offedness that you can feel, as a result of something said or done, by a family member. Last night as I’m driving my son to his taekwon-do, he enlightens me with all his might and wisdom over what pisses him off, and apparently its my wife and I (only!). He doesn’t like the fact that we try to impose a bedtime on him. He thinks that at 16 he knows all and knows whats best for him, but specifically said that the only reason he is so upset about going to bed at the time we’ve determined is that we’ve determined a specific bedtime in the first place. He cited as an example, of while he was in Europe that when it came to bedtime, he was in bed by 9 pm everynight. I laughed. So he’s suggesting that if he didn’t have a bedtime, he would go to bed at a descent time everynight. YA RIGHT!!!! The reality of it all is that this imposed bedtime is only during the week when he is expected to do well in school, etc. So Friday and Saturday there isn’t an imposed bedtime. So because we force him to goto bed at a certain time, he spends that time on (until god knows when) doing stuff in his room to keep himself awake instead of relaxing and attempting to get enough proper sleep.

I guess my wife and I are too restrictive on what we allow him to do during weekends and evenings, etc. He thinks he is responsible enough to be running the roads, where ever and when ever he sees fit. He says, “Whats the big deal if what ever travel arrangements required don’t involve you?”. I said “you’re 16 fricken years old, and clearly too immature to handle the responsibility of such an idea, thats why!” I told him that if he didn’t have such restrictions, he would be up at a friends house drinking every night, and I reminded him again that he is only 16! Around this time of the conversation I started getting pissed off. I layed into him about these supposed friends of his that don’t have mothers and/or fathers or someone who actually gives a shit about them, and in comparison to him, who does have people who care about him., and that thats why we impose such “rules” upon him. I think in alot of ways we let him get away with alot of shit that most kids his age don’t get away with, again, except for the ones that don’t in my mind have any kind of a normal family life. I told him that when he’s all done with school, and old enough, he can get a job and move out, then he can be as “free” as he thinks he should be. He can be free to do his own laundry, and cooking/cleaning. He can do his own purchasing of groceries and sundry-type items, oh and he can be free to pay his own rent, electricity costs, phone costs, internet access costs, oh and he thinks he would be taking “our” computer with him if he did leave, yaaaaaa right…. He seems to be under this false impression that everything out in the real world is a piece of cake. His “real world” of course is being able to do what he wants, when he wants but still having the luxuries of everything he currently has at home. He’s totally ignorant of the costs involved in maintaining such an infrastructure, or even being able to provide or do such a thing. He is totally unappreciative about everything. WHEW! I have to keep reminding myself that he is just a typical teenager, or should I say “teen-anger”.

As a parent this attitude of his totally pisses me off, and it pisses me off that I get so pissed off about such things because I think he sometimes says such things because he knows I get pissed off about it. GRRRRR! As a kid myself, and as my mother could attest to, I had a bad temper. She used to buy me things that would allow me to vent that temper, like those blow-up punching bags that were usually in the shape of a clown or something. I destroyed it too, but then she figured out that she could distract me with things. Especially things that could be taken apart. I loved taking things apart and putting them back together. She started getting upset with me when she would buy something for me that wasn’t made to be taken apart, but I would take it apart anyways. SEE, thats how easily distractable I can be. In any case, I usually go in and watch my son while he’s doing his taekwon-do but last night I was too pissed off with him, so I stayed in the car. His class is an hour long so after about 3 minutes sitting in the car I got bored, so I decided to get out and see if the garage had put my damaged rim into the trunk of the car for me to dispose of (see my previous post about that) as they hadn’t said what they did with it. So I get out and looked in the trunk and was pleased to see that the rim wasn’t there, but I noticed that it was actually a nice evening. A little cool, but not too bad. I decided to go for a walk to walk off the anger I was feeling for him, but I didn’t want to go too far. Well, where he does hid taekwon-do is in an old primary school. Its not very big, so I decided to walk around it. It reminded me of the track at my high school which I remembered was about an 8th of a mile. So I decided to take a few laps around the school. After the fourth lap I was still feeling pretty good and if it happened to be the same distance as my high school track then if I were to be able to walk around it 8 times than I could say that I at least walked one mile. I then postulated during my continuing walk that it couldn’t be the same size so I figured for it to be somewhat equivalent I would have to attain at least 10-12 laps. I ended up doing about 16, and the only reason I stopped was because my nose was getting cold. Hey, I got distracted once again!

JOKE OF THE DAY:

An Englishman ,a Scotsman, and an Irishman are all to give speeches to the Deaf Society. All are keen to make an impression on their audience.

The Englishman goes first and to the surprise of his colleagues starts by rubbing first his chest and then his groin. When he finishes the Scotsman and Irishman ask him what he was doing.

“Well” he explained” By rubbing my chest I indicated breasts and thus Ladies and by rubbing my groin I indicated balls and thus Gentlemen. So my speech started: Ladies and Gentlemen”.

On his way up to the podium the Scotsman thought to himself I’ll go one better than that English bastard and started his speech by making an antler symbol with his fingers above his head before also rubbing his chest and his groin.

When he finished his colleagues asked what he was doing. “Well” he explained” By imitating antlers and then rubbing my chest and groin I was starting my speech by saying: Deer Ladies and Gentlemen”.

On his way up to the podium the Irishman thought to himself I’ll go one further than those mainland bastards and started his speech by making an antler symbol above his head, rubbing his chest, and then his groin, and then masturbating furiously.

When he finished his colleagues asked him what he was doing. “Well” he explained,” by imitating antlers, rubbing my chest and then my groin and then masturbating I was starting my speech by saying: Deer Ladies and Gentlemen, it gives me great pleasure…….”

Leave a Reply

