Cause & Effect

My son is somewhere in the wilds of France, hopefuly NOT sowing those wild oats, mostly because the French there would be upset at him, because he is in the Lucerne area, which according to his itinerary, is a major wine growing/making area. Today he’s on his way to Switzerland. Everyday we look at his itinerary to see where he is going to be and what they’re going to be doing. We haven’t heard from him and nor do we expect to. He’s truly on his own so the last thing he’s going to want to do is to contact us. I keep saying to my wife that I hope he’s taking alot of pictures. I’m trying not to get too excited by that idea because knowing him, he’d be very likely to say “its not an opportune time to take a picture”, or we’ll get lots of pictures that when he gets back will be described as ” Here’s Jimmy just before he farted, then here’s another during his fart, and here’s another after he farted…”, etc. I’m trying not to get my hopes up too high.

So whats been going? Busy as usual here at work. I’ve been finalising some major work that I’ve been working on, but as usual everyday brings something new. I was in contact with a friend of mine who is now living in Ontario. He wants me to come work with him there. He hates it there, but hates the available talent (as in programming talent) there even more. He doesn’t have much patience for incompetence and is frustrated to the point where he thinks he’d rather have me there instead of anyone else he may be able to get locally, even though the area of development that he uses and works in I don’t have much experience in, but did utilize in a project we did together a few years ago. So because of that he wants me. This comes at a time when my wife, who just got back from visiting her Mother who just happens to live in that same area is thinking about moving back there. She was very excited to here all of this.

The weather this past weekend has been amazing! Temperatures have been 10-12 degrees celcius, and sunny! Yesterday we went for a drive. We drove the back way into Bedford through Waverly. Its a small winding road that in the fall, with the colours of the trees is the most amazing drive anywhere. We took our time enjoying the scenery, we drove through and found and went to a few open houses, just for the fun of it all. We were interested in seeing how much houses cost in the area. According to my wife, who seems to keep reminding me of this, the cost of a house is about the same as the cost of a house in Ontario. Her sister is a realestate agent there, so she had lots of brochours to look at while she was there. I couldn’t beleive how much they cost!

JOKE OF THE DAY:

A dedicated shop steward was at a convention in Las Vegas and decided to check out the local brothels.
When he got to the first one, he asked the madame, “Is this a union house?”
“No, I’m sorry it isn’t.”
“Well, if I pay you $100, what cut do the girls get?”
“The house gets $80 and the girls get $20.”
Mightily offended at such unfair dealings, the man stomped off down the street in search of a more equitable shop.
His search continued as long as you want to draw things out, until finally he reached a brothel where the madame said, “Why yes, this is a union house.”
“And if I pay you $100, what cut do the girls get?”
“The girls get $80 and the house gets $20.”
“That’s more like it!” the man said. He looked around the room and pointed to a stunningly attractive redhead. “I’d like her for the night.”
“I’m sure you would, sir,” said the madame, gesturing to a fat fifty-year-old woman in the corner, “but Ethel here has seniority.”

Leave a Reply

