Two for one

I don’t know if I mentioned it here or not before, but here at work most of us developers now have one whole computer monitor for each eye!  According to our SysAdmin he has allowed us to double our production, since we now have two monitors.  It is of course less of an efficiency thing and more of a “I’ve got two monitors (Matt!) and you don’t” thing.  With all of us developer-types getting new and fancy flat-panels to work from a short while ago, that left a whole crop of old-style monitors sitting around doing nothing.  I of course instigated this whole process of getting dual monitors setup, although I wasn’t the first one here to have it.  We attempted several things at first that would cost the company nothing, so already existing “extra” equipment was used, but we were unsuccessful in getting them to work.  Then our SysAdmin acquired, very cheaply, a few video cards that we were eventually able to just drop into the computer and get to work.  It took a few tweeks of the BIOS to make it work, but, again, I was the one to figure that out (As you can see, I’m not one for tooting my own horn as it were…DOOOOH!).  Once I got mine working, then everyone else got theirs.  It would have been nice to have dual flat-panel monitors (just to save desk space), but considering the minimal cost in what we did do, its more than acceptable, I like it.  I have a dual monitor setup at home too, which again cost me next to nothing to setup.  The only thing is I have a 19″ monitor as my main monitor, then the second one is only a 17″.  Its a minor thing really, they both work just fine.

So now I am able to put open applications that aren’t necessarily being used onto the secondary monitor to reside and be out of my way while I work on the more important stuff.  Applications that fall into this type of category are MSN and Google Talk, as well as Outlook.  They are always running (gathering emails, and IM’ing, etc) but that I don’t necessarily have to see and read without losing focus on what I’m currently working on.  Instead of having to switch applications to read mail, I just have to glance over at the other screen and see whats new and decide if I should read that new email or not, depending on who its from.  In most cases I can just happily continue working without being distracted.  So it is more than just a nicety.  It does allow you to be a little bit more efficient, but I’ll never admit to that in public anyways.

JOKE OF THE DAY:

A policeman passes a parking lot around midnight and notices a couple in a parked car. He stops to investigate and sees a man in the driver’s seat and a young lady in the backseat, quietly reading a magazine.
The officer knocks on the window and asks whats going on.
“Listening to music,” the guy says.
Pointing toward the lady in the backseat, the officer asks, “And what’s she doing?”
“Reading a magazine, of course.”
“How old are you?” asks the officer.
“I’m 28.”
“And how old is she?”
The guy looks at his watch and says, “Well in 11 minutes she’ll be 18.”

Posted in At Work. 1 Comment »

One Response to “Two for one”

  1. Izaak Says:

    Hey Jerk, I was the one to instigate the dual monitor thing… Ask Steve!…


Leave a Reply

