Damn TV

Okay, this whole pop-culture/TV shit is just freakin’ me out.  The amount of shit that has affected our day to day lives from shit we see on TV is just incredible!  I just had a quick IM conversation with someone here at work where I asked him to do something work related.  He immediaitely complied (yes thats strange unto itself, but…) and I replied with a “good boy” which was intending to be a comical reference to something you might say to your dog and his reply was “Sit Ubu Sit”.  What freaked me out was that I was literally thinking the same freakin’ thing.  Its a reference to some TV show, I don’t know exactly which one, but at the end of the credits for it, it shows a picture of a dog and you hear “Sit Ubu Sit…good dog”.  This is suppossed to be some reference to the production company involved I assume but its bizzare that such a minor stuipid thing as that is now some dumb pop-culture reference that for some reason, losers like us want to reference in our everyday lives. 

The more I think about it, the more I am remembering quotes from Movies and other TV shows and how ingrained they are in my everyday conversational use.  Whats wierd is that if you don’t watch TV or don’t watch a gazillion movies every month you can actually be left out of conversations because you’re not picking up on all of these kinds of references.  Whats worse now is that alot of new TV shows and movies are doing the same things, so you’re getting pop-culture references in shows from which you will eventually derrive even more references from.  Its a vicious cycle!  It also seems like there is no happy medium with it either.  You’re either into it all and getting/knowing all references or you don’t give a shit and know none of them.

Damn I hate conforming to what everyone else is doing!

JOKE OF THE DAY:

A beautiful young New York woman was so depressed that she decided to end her life by throwing herself into the ocean. But just before she could throw herself from the docks, a handsome young sailor stopped her.

“You have so much to live for,” said the sailor. “Look, I’m off to Europe tomorrow and I can stow you away on my ship. I’ll take care of you, bring you food every day, and keep you happy.”

With nothing to lose, combined with the fact that she had always wanted to go to Europe, the woman accepted. That night the sailor brought her aboard and hid her in a lifeboat. From then on, every night he would bring her three sandwiches and make love to her until dawn.

Three weeks later she was discovered by the captain during a routine inspection.

“What are you doing here?” asked the captain.

“I have an arrangement with one of the sailors,” she replied. “He brings me food and I get a free trip to Europe. Plus he’s screwing me.”

“He certainly is,” replied the captain. “This is the Staten Island Ferry”.

5 Responses to “Damn TV”

  1. airolson Says:

    I’m pretty sure it’s Sit, BOOBOO, Sit.

    *bark*

    Good dog. 🙂

  2. dooohhead Says:

    You don’t watch TV, how do you know!!!!!
    LOL

  3. Heidi Says:

    *L* I have heard that one myself. But… I have no idea where it’s from!!

  4. Phil McCracken Says:

    I remember where it was from. It was at the end of Family Ties, remember that show with Michael J. Fox.

    What I’m afraid of…is someday we’ll look back at the crap on TV and call is “good, classic TV”.

  5. LOTGK Says:

    I now see a lot of the “ubu” skit going on with other shows now.
    It has started a trend.


Leave a Reply

