Underworld

We went and saw the movie Underworld: Evolution on saturday.  I’m not necessarily “into” vampires and wereworlves as such, but I do enjoy a decent action movie and as far as that goes, Underworld was ok.  The main draw of course is seeing Kate Beckinsale in that unbeleiveably tight leather outfit, or rather in this case, out of it.  We only recently purchased and watched the first one in preparation for seeing this second one.  Is it just me or are some movies becoming predictable?  I’m not talking about predicting the end of the movie from just seeing the beginning, I’m talking about any particular scene, for example:  There is a scene in this movie (BEWARE, MOVIE SPOILER!!!!) where a helicopter falls from the sky into a building and it crashes nose-first and is held perpendicular like that with its blades still going at full speed, and the center of the whirling blades are at the exact level of a platform where the main character just happenes to be standing.  Since you see the main bad-guy escaping his temporary constraints you just know that there is going to be a huge battle where one of them is going to get sliced and diced.  Now it just seemed obvious to me that it wasn’t going to be Kate, because what if they want to create a third movie?  You can’t create a third movie with the main character dead now can you?  So right there you know its not going to be Kate that gets chopped up, but since the blades are still going at full speed, someone will so bye-bye bad guy!  My wife was sitting beside just cringing at the thought of someone getting chopped up like that, but even she saw it coming.  I had to laugh because when it did happen, I thought of that old corny joke “What is red and green and going around and around?  A frog in a blender” LOL  Thats what that scene looked like to me…LOL

We bought a new digital camera on saturday too, in preparation for my sons Europe trip.  We didn’t buy it for him per se, but we will definitely be giving it to him to take with him.  I was a little disappointed to be informed by Heidi that my son won’t be able to take a picture of the Mona Lisa for me.  I’ll have to come up with something else for him to take a picture of for me.  I like the camera we bought, its a Kodak Z760.  Its likely not the best one out there, but for me its awesome!  Its 6.1 MegaPixels, it came with Kodaks docking station (not the printing one) and it does everything I can ever think a camera should do.  Its got 3X zoom and 4X digital zoom, and its got automated features for everything as well as the ability to have/change manual exposures, and f-stops, etc., not that I necessarily know how to do any of that, but maybe now I can learn.  As much as I like the camera, I dislike the packaging of it, and its condition from the location where we bought it.  I’m a little concerned that it was returned merchandise and that it may not be totally functioning correctly.  I tried to setup the slideshow ability through the docking station to my TV and couldn’t get it to work.  There may be a problem with that cable as when I plug it in, everything just shuts off.  I’m not prepared yet to give up on the entire package as it was a good deal.  I may just see if I can source another cable and/or docking station to try to narrow down what the problem may be.

It was another incredible weekend, weather-wise.  It was a little breezy, but it was bright and sunny.  I was out working on the car a little bit.  Tightening some nuts and bolts and checking fluids.  Its difficult to want to do such things when you don’t have a garage and your parking area is nothing but mud with some rocks in it.  I’m getting too old to be wanting to crawl around in the mud anymore.

I had to add this pic in to my entry today.  One of my coworkers says that he thought of me when he saw it, so I thought I’d share…enjoy
Flickr Photo

JOKE OF THE DAY:

Bob stood over his tee shot on the 450 yard 18th hole for what seemed
an eternity.  He waggled, looked up, looked down, waggled again, but
didn’t start his back swing.  Finally his exasperated partner asked,
“What the hell is taking you so long?!”

“My wife is up there watching me from the clubhouse balcony,” Bob
explained, “I want to make a perfect shot.”

“Good Lord!,” his partner exclaimed.  “You don’t have a snowball’s
chance in hell of hitting her from here!”

3 Responses to “Underworld”

  1. LOTGK Says:

    Yes, kate is a hottie.
    About the first movie, i guess it was OK, but yes, way to predictable.
    Like the movie The island. i would have liked to see Ewan mcgregor not get shot and take the place of the clone. Now that would be different…..

    And it took me 5 minutes to see the boat….

  2. Heidi Says:

    I’m thinking I’m going to have to give that movie a miss… thanks for the head’s up on it!!!!!

    Your son will have sooooooooooooooooo many things to take pictures of for you. I’m so dang excited for him to go and to hear about his adventures when he gets back.

    Feel free to contact me if there is any way I can help answer some questions for you!! : )

  3. Phil McCracken Says:

    I’m sorry, I don’t see the boat?


Leave a Reply

