The Trip

As most of you already know from some of my past entries, my son is embarking on a trip to Europe with his school.  So far its been pretty painful, costwise, etc, but its something my wife and I really want to allow our son to do.  We’ve gotten his passport, and all payments have been completed.  It is now in the final stages of finalizing all aspects of the trip.  So now we are looking at what to do about money for him.  Obviously he is going to need some, mostly so that he can take care of the requirements of his trip that we have imposed upon him (Like taking a pic of the Mona Lisa, and other such foolishness).  It has been suggested that we get him some travellers cheques.  My experience with them has always been one of them being a royal pain in the ass.  Oh they are secure, suppossedly, but very painful to use if you just want a can of soda from a local store.

Now Europe has adopted the “Euro” hasn’t it?  Shouldn’t we just be able to give him access to funds, in Euros?  He is going to 5 different countries, but that shouldn’t matter with the Euro, right?  Is there Interact connected bank machines there?  Maybe we can just let him use his bank card while there?  I know if we get him travellers cheques, he won’t like the hassle of using them.

Now what about batteries?  He is I am sure going to be taking his MP3 player and/or his CD player with him. Are what we consider here in North America for battery sizes, the same (ie AA, AAA, C, D, etc)?  And are they the same voltages, etc?  I know electricaly things are different there compared to here, but his MP3 player recharges itself via a USB connection on a computer, so I don’t know how he is going to accomodate that, but maybe he can find an Internet Cafe and plug in for a few minutes to recharge, who knows, but if he has to buy new batteries for his CD player will he be able to do that, or for a camera even?

We are going to be getting ourselves a new camera, a decent one that we will allow him to take on this trip.  Like I said though, we’ve told him that we want lots of pictures.  We’ll buy him a few good sized memory cards to take with him as well.  We may never be able to make such a trip for ourselves, so we want to experience what we can through him and these pictures.  I told him, I want a picture of him, or at least simply a picture of the Mona Lisa.  I’ve read Dan Browns description of it and want to see how close he came in describing it.

JOKE OF THE DAY:

By the time a Marine pulled into a little town, every hotel room was taken. ”You’ve got to have a room somewhere,” he pleaded. ”Or just a bed, I don’t care where.” ”Well, I do have a double room with one occupant, a Navy guy,” admitted the manager, ”and he might be glad to split the cost. But to tell you the truth, he snores so loudly that people in adjoining rooms have complained in the past. I’m not sure it’d be worth it to you.” ”No problem,” the tired Marine assured him. ”I’ll take it.”
The next morning the Marine came down to breakfast bright-eyed and bushy-tailed. ”How’d you sleep?” asked the manager. ”Never better.” The manager was impressed. ”No problem with the other guy snoring, then?” ”Nope, I shut him up in no time,” said the Marine. ”How’d you manage that?” asked the manager. ”He was already in bed, snoring away, when I came in the room,” the Marine explained. ”I went over, gave him a kiss on the cheek, said, ‘Goodnight, beautiful,’ and he sat up all night watching me.”

Posted in At Work. 1 Comment »

One Response to “The Trip”

  1. Heidi Says:

    Hey there!! I go to Europe each year, and I wouldn’t recommend traveler’s checks at all. It’s far easier to use a debit or credit card and deal with cash advances. He won’t have to worry about banks being open, exchange rates or anything like this. At the ATM machines, the Euros just pop out, and you don’t deal with it until he gets back.

    When he’s at the Louvre, he won’t be able to take a pic of the Mona Lisa. People are always snapping them, some succeed, but he could get booted out of the room it’s in by a burly big old guard if he’s not careful. *L* They don’t allow pics there.

    I’m going to have to back up and read more about his upcoming trip. I’m so excited for him, and so very glad you and your wife are making this possible for him!!!!!!


Leave a Reply

