Family, missing

Yesterday, one of my nieces turned 19.  Thats the second daughter of my older sister that has attained that age, one more to go.  Its all good but its pointing out how long it has been since I moved away from my family.  All in all we’ve been gone for about 20-21 years.  My kida are all but grown up and one of them is gone, one of my sisters kid is already moved out going to college and I’m sure talking about getting married and all of that stuff.  I’ve kept in contact with most of them and thankfully the internet has helped facilitate that, but it makes me think.  How much of their lives have I missed out on?  Oh I’ve visited at Christmas time and other vacation times, but its hard to appreciate all of the stuff thats been going on with them when you only get a few days out of a couple of weeks to spend any time with any of them over several years.  It makes me sad.  I wish I could be apart of their lives alot more than I have been, but everyone must do whats right for them, and for me and my family it was right to move away from the big city.  I don’t regret the decision we made that caused us to move away in the first place.  I just wish I could be around all of my family alot more without actually living where they all do.

My younger sister has just started having kids.  Her daughter is 5 and they have a son whom we haven’t even met in person yet.  Maybe soon my wife and I will be able to travel alot more and alot easier and maybe we can try to spend more time with everyone.

I had to add this picture.  My Brother in law sent it to me and I thinks its just awesome (I want one!!!):

Flickr Photo

JOKE OF THE DAY:

A burglar broke into a house one night. He flashed his flashlight around, looking for valuables. When he picked
up a CD player to place in his sack, a strange disembodied voice echoed from the dark saying “Jesus is watching YOU.”
 
He nearly jumped out of his skin, clicked his flashlight off and froze. When he heard nothing more after a little while, he shook his head, promised himself a vacation after the next score, and then clicked the light back on, and began searching again for more valuables. Just as he pulled the stereo out so he could disconnect the wires, clear as a bell he heard, “Jesus is watching YOU.”
 
Freaked out, he shone his light around frantically, looking for the source of the voice. Finally, in the corner of the room, his flashlight came to rest on a parrot. “Did you say that?” he hissed at the parrot.
 
“Yep,” the parrot confessed, and then squawked, “I’m trying to warn you.”
 
The burglar relaxed. “Warn me, huh? Who are you?”
 
“Moses,” replied the parrot.
 
“Moses?” the burglar laughed. “What kind of stupid people would name a parrot MOSES?”
 
The parrot replied, “Probably the same kind of people that would name a Rotweiller JESUS.”

Leave a Reply

