Busy dealing with Hurricane Betty

Hey everyone, sorry for not blogging for awhile now.  I have been dealing with the results of Hurricane Betty being in our midsts.  Since she arrived last week, things around our house have been hectic.

This past Saturday, my wife wakes up, along with her mother (Hurricane Betty) and between them it was decided that since Betty was going to the local Legion (her old hangout) that maybe my wife and daughter could go along as well.  My wife being the woman that she is, figured that if she was making a trip to the “city”, that she would also accomplish other things besides sitting in a Legion and getting drunk, so she planned on going to the grocery store and the bank, etc.  Well by the time I woke up, she asked me if I wanted to go along.  I told her I did, but that I didn’t want to goto the Legion.  She of course started in with her saying “Ooh you never want to do anything with me…” stuff.  Well, going to the Legion with Hurricane Betty is not one of those things that are high on my todo list.  When it happens, and it has in the past, you end up going in and finding a table and sitting down, but Betty, since its her old stomping grounds, HAS to go and visit whom-ever might be in there at that time.  So you either get to follow her around like a little puppy dog and have her introduce you to all of the people there, whome you will never meet up with again, OR you end up sitting at the table, by yourself, while she flitters around visiting everyone, then ending up at the gambling machines throwing her money into it and smoking, until you finally say I’ve had enough, I’m leaving.  Well I guess you notice which option I usually fall into (sitting at the table by myself).  I’m not one to follow anyone around, like a little puppy.  So because of this, I just didn’t want to go (to the Legion), and I didn’t.  Its absolutely not any fun for me.

Everytime Hurricane Betty comes for a visit, that entire time (just about) is spent taking her places visiting people whom she hasn’t seen for the same amount of time WE haven’t seen her.  So spending time with her is time also spent with all of the people she hasn’t been able to spend time with.  Its all just crazyness.  Of course all of this is on top of all of the busy-ness that happens at our house on a regular basis.  My son wanting to go here and do that, and us having to goto this fundraising thingy over here and oh my damn truck might not start today so we need to get that fixed and we don’t have any money to buy this or that, we have to get the roof replaced before winter…etc, etc, etc.  Now add in Hurricane Betty wants to go shopping here and then my daugher having to go there, then Hurricane Betty has to go visit her sister on this day, while doing additional shopping…its a damn good thing my wife isn’t working right now or else they’d be screwed for being able to do any of this shit.  I’m just glad that I have to goto work during this time.  It helps keep me sane sometimes.  Geez, did I just say that?

JOKE OF THE DAY:

There was this guy at a bar, just looking at his drink. He stays like that for half of an hour.

Then, this big trouble-making truck driver steps next to him, takes the drink from the guy, and just drinks it all down. The poor man starts crying. The truck driver says, “Come on man, I was just joking. Here, I’ll buy you another drink. I just can’t stand to see a man cry.”

“No, it’s not that. This day is the worst of my life. First, I fall asleep, and I go late to my office. My boss, outrageous, fires me. When I leave the building, to my car, I found out it was stolen. The police said that they can do nothing. I get a cab to return home, and when I leave it, I remember I left my wallet and credit cards there. The cab driver just drives away.”

“I go home, and when I get there, I find my wife in bed with the gardener. I leave home, and come to this bar. And just when I was thinking about putting an end to my life, you show up and drink my poison.”

Leave a Reply

