Hurricane Betty

“Hurricane Betty” rolled into Halifax last night, but didn’t stick around very long.  She huffed, and she puffed, and blew a few telephone poles down.  The electricity was out for several hours, but came back on when NSPower said it would.  She eventually got tired and went home.  That’s the way I am going to describe it to my Mother-in-law-from-hell.  She attempted to come for a visit last night, from T.O. but didn’t quite make it.  She was in the plane, circling Halifax airport, but because of the 100+ Kph winds they couldn’t land.  What was surprising was that the plane had (?) to go back all the way to Toronto, instead of landing somewhere closer like Montreal, or Ottawa.  My daughters’ flight from Newfie was cancelled outright, so she didn’t even get on a plane.

So, the big surprise that was to occur for my wife’s’ birthday, didn’t quite happen.

The plan was for my wife’s Aunt & Uncle, who live here in Nova Scotia as well, to pick up the M.I.L. (Mother-in-law) at the airport.  They would then wait for my daughter coming in from Newfie about an hour later.  I was going to stop by the airport on my way home from work, pick up the MIL’s luggage and take it with me to free up room in the aunt/uncles’ car.  They were then going to go to my house and pull a big surprise on my wife, while I would be out gathering food and birthday cake for the impending surprise party.  What actually happened was that my daughters’ flight got cancelled.  I saw this online at work before I left.  The MIL’s flight supposedly was in the air.  I left work, went to the airport and met up with the Aunt & Uncle.  I decided that since they wouldn’t have to pick up my daughter, I left to gather the food.  I was at the liquor store and the grocery store and was a little surprised that they weren’t at my place by the time I got there.

My wife had told me that she had a roast beef about 3/4 cooked but didn’t have the mashed potatoes, gravy or yorkshire pudding done before the power went out, so I was to pick up some grocery store stuff to go with it.  She also suggested I pick up something for desert, like a cheesecake.  Well of course I was getting a birthday cake so I didn’t get the cheese cake.  So I roll in, surprised that everyone else wasn’t there already, my wife starts unloading the groceries I did get.  Some bags of chips and extra “meal stuff” and she starts complaining about everything.  Why did I get such a big container of coleslaw, why did I get two french loafs of bread and why didn’t I get the damn cheese cake.  I was attempting to get enough food for everyone who was supposed to be there and all the while trying not to divulge to my wife about the surprise that was soon to happen.  By the time we actually sat down to eat, she was quite upset over the evening, as it was, so far.  Then I get the phone call from the Aunt & Uncle saying that the MIL’s flight was also cancelled.  That was it, the evening was shot.  The jig was definitely up.  My wife, who was almost in tears by this time, I had to tell her what was supposed to happen.  I think she was still surprised to hear of what was supposed to happen, but then she got mad at me for not doing more around the house in preparation for the impending company.  After getting no sleep myself the other night and leaving work early yesterday because I felt so terrible, and then having to climb up onto the roof to fix it in preparation for this huge wind/rain storm, I was in no condition to do any vacuuming or cleaning of the toilet.  So, when the Aunt & Uncle finally arrived, after we scrambled around, in the candle-lit house, cleaning it as best as we could, she finally, I think, was a little happy about the events that had transpired and what was about to occur, hopefully, in its entirety today.  On my way into work this morning, I picked up my daughter at the airport, and then this evening we will be getting the MIL.  All will almost be as planned, just a day later, which is one day closer to my wife’s birthday, so I think the effect will ultimately be the same.

Happy B-Day Dee!

JOKE OF THE DAY:

In a long line of people waiting for a bank teller, one guy suddenly started massaging the back of the person in front of him.
Surprised, the man in front turned and snarled, “Just what the hell are you doing?”

“Well,” said the guy, “you see, I’m a chiropractor and I could see that you were tense, so I had to massage your back. Sometimes I just can’t help practicing my art!”

“That’s the stupidest thing I’ve ever heard!” the guy replied. “I’m a lawyer. Do you see me screwing the guy in front of me?”

2 Responses to “Hurricane Betty”

  1. bitzky Says:

    Ah crap. That’s a real shame. But the idea was awesome.

  2. Phil Says:

    Great story, enjoyed it as it makes me feel I’m not the only one sometimes being shat on by the gods.


Leave a Reply

