Too much work?

Lately I have begun to have boughts of insomnia.  I guess in truth you sort of see it coming and you always pass it off as something someone else is inflicted with, not yourself.  I think I have finally accepted it for what it is.  My problem is that I think it is something that can be fixed, easily, but not cheaply.  I definitely have issues with our bed.  Its bad, but as we discovered recently, its not necessarily a problem with the mattress.  A while ago I was sleeping in the spare bedroom, on one of our old mattresses and I was sort of ok with it.  So my wife decided that she would move that old mattress into our bedroom thinking that would improve things.  Unfortunately it didn’t, and we, just the other day moved it back out.  My thinking now is that its a problem with the box-spring part of the bed, not the mattress.  Again, unfortunately I won’t be able to test out my theory as events are occurring that will prevent me from attempting yet another switch-out for at least several weeks.  So I’m thinking my insomnia will be taking over during that time. 

My secondary theory is that my insomnia is due at least in part to there being too much work for me to do here at work.  We are progressing on work that will help elieviate some of what I do, but as is usual, it will also bring about new work that I will have to be apart of.  I am thinking that the stress of knowing whats coming, and how much of it is there, is overwhelming me to some degree, as thats all I seem to think about when my head finally hits the pillow.  It seems like such a simple concept, to not worry about something, isn’t it?  I mean, when you recognize yourself in that situation you want to talk about it with someone.  The problem is, the only response you will ever get from anyone is simply “Don’t worry about it”.  Easy.

I’m hoping that tonight might be the beginning of “less stress”, although I’m sure it won’t start to happen until thursday, but things will be in place that I’m hoping will start the process.  Ending the work week on Wednesday will definitely help!

JOKE OF THE DAY:

A woman goes to visit a fortune teller. In a dark and hazy room, peering into a crystal ball, the mystic delivered grave news.

“There’s no easy way to say this, so I’ll just be blunt: Prepare yourself to be a widow. Your husband will die a violent and horrible death this year.”

Visibly shaken, the woman stares at the fortune teller’s lined face, then at the single flickering candle, then down at her hands.

She took a few deep breaths to compose herself. She simply had to know. She met the fortune teller’s gaze, steadied her voice, and asked her question. “Will I be found guilty?”

Posted in At Work. 1 Comment »

One Response to “Too much work?”

  1. Libertine Says:

    I also have periodic bouts with insomnia and I’m sure mine in caused entirely by stress, and has nothing to do with what bed I’m sleeping in,

    I find it helps to limit my caffeine intake. I don’t drink coffee, but I drink a lot of colas, so I’ve tried to make sure to drink caffeine-free ones.


Leave a Reply

