The downfall of the internet (again)

Grokster Downloading Service to Shut Down

Grokster Downloading Service to Shut Down – Yahoo! News

If this isn’t an early warning signal of impending doom, then I don’t know what is.  I have written in the past about, how the internet is changing.  Its becomming less of a “fun” thing and more of a “commercial” thing.  It is starting to feel like everything that anyone might think they want to do on the internet will, at some point, likely very soon have a cost associated with it.  Everything that is done now on the internet has some sort of legal ramifications to it in some way or another.  Surfing websites will be next.  There are already websites that only “registered” users can access.  Pretty soon all websites will be like that.  There will be a cost just to view someone’s website let alone considering to buy something from it.  It just makes me sick to think of where this could all be taken by these “commercial” bastards.  “Oh, lets go and find out what the lottery numbers were from last nights draw”…”It’ll cost me $0.25 just to view the numbers online!  WTF?”  Its all downhill from here folks.  I don’t know what I’m going to do when all of this transpires. Maybe by then I’ll be that self-sufficient hermit living in the boonies never to see or use technology again…Oh wait…I already live in the boonies…doooh!  Apparently I’m already on my way.

JOKE OF THE DAY:

A
businessman walks into a bar after a day at the office, sits down, and
orders a drink. He grabs a handful of peanuts from the bowl on the
counter, and as he takes his first sip, he hears a voice say, “That’s a
beautiful tie, is that silk? The women must love you.”

Wondering who would make such a strange comment, he looks around
and doesn’t see anyone near him who could’ve been speaking to him. With
a shrug, he finishes his drink & peanuts and orders another.

Next he hears a voice say, “Those shoes are stylin’, my man. Are they Italian leather? They look grrrreat.”

He whirls around to again see no one near him. He glances
nervously around and then at his shoes, which he tucks self-consciously
under the stool. A little wierded out, he grabs another handful of
peanuts and orders a third drink. This time the voice continues with,
“That suit looks fantastic. Is it an Armani? You are *SO* G.Q.!”

He immediately calls the bartender over and says, “Look. I keep
hearing these voices telling me how great my tie, my shoes, and my suit
look — What’s up with that? Am I going crazy?”

“Oh,” the bartender, nonchalantly replies, “those are just the peanuts.”

“The peanuts?!?” the astonished man asks, staring at the bowl beside him.

“Yeah,” replies the bartender, “…they’re complimentary.”

Leave a Reply

