Today (June 12, 2012) I received two text messages on my cell phone, from the following numbers: 1-718-679-8931 and 1-718-724-3874, both messages had the following text: “”Congratulations, your number made you Walmart’s winner of the day. Goto http://www.walmart.com.wonacontest.com to claim your prize! You have 24 hours to claim”. I am ALWAYS suspicious of unsolicited text messages, even from my cell carrier, so I came home and started to check this out. I opened a console in linux and pinged http://www.walmart.com.wonacontest.com. I got several successfull replies of:
ping http://www.walmart.com.wonacontest.com
PING http://www.walmart.com.wonacontest.com (190.14.36.30) 56(84) bytes of data.
64 bytes from cpanel02.offshoreracks.com (190.14.36.30): icmp_req=1 ttl=49 time=102 ms
64 bytes from cpanel02.offshoreracks.com (190.14.36.30): icmp_req=2 ttl=49 time=104 ms
64 bytes from cpanel02.offshoreracks.com (190.14.36.30): icmp_req=3 ttl=49 time=103 ms
64 bytes from cpanel02.offshoreracks.com (190.14.36.30): icmp_req=4 ttl=49 time=102 ms
64 bytes from cpanel02.offshoreracks.com (190.14.36.30): icmp_req=5 ttl=49 time=101 ms
64 bytes from cpanel02.offshoreracks.com (190.14.36.30): icmp_req=6 ttl=49 time=100 ms
64 bytes from cpanel02.offshoreracks.com (190.14.36.30): icmp_req=7 ttl=49 time=103 ms
64 bytes from cpanel02.offshoreracks.com (190.14.36.30): icmp_req=8 ttl=49 time=101 ms
64 bytes from cpanel02.offshoreracks.com (190.14.36.30): icmp_req=9 ttl=49 time=100 ms
^Z
[1]+ Stopped ping http://www.walmart.com.wonacontest.com
I then did a whois on that IP address and got the following response:
% Joint Whois - whois.lacnic.net
% This server accepts single ASN, IPv4 or IPv6 queries
% LACNIC resource: whois.lacnic.net
% Copyright LACNIC lacnic.net
% The data below is provided for information purposes
% and to assist persons in obtaining information about or
% related to AS and IP numbers registrations
% By submitting a whois query, you agree to use this data
% only for lawful purposes.
% 2012-06-12 18:46:16 (BRT -03:00)
inetnum: 190.14.36/22
status: allocated
aut-num: N/A
owner: Offshore Racks S.A
ownerid: PA-ORSA2-LACNIC
responsible: Francisco Gonzalez
address: Apdo 0819-07269, ,
address: -- - Panama - PA
country: PA
phone: +507 3173633 []
owner-c: FRG9
tech-c: FRG9
abuse-c: FRG9
inetrev: 190.14.36/22
nserver: NS3.OFFSHORERACKS.COM
nsstat: 20120610 AA
nslastaa: 20120610
nserver: NS2.OFFSHORERACKS.COM
nsstat: 20120610 AA
nslastaa: 20120610
nserver: NS1.OFFSHORERACKS.COM
nsstat: 20120610 AA
nslastaa: 20120610
created: 20110223
changed: 20110223
nic-hdl: FRG9
person: Jorge Miranda
e-mail: info@OFFSHORERACKS.COM
address: 8409 NW 68 ST, ,
address: 33166 - Miami - FL
country: US
phone: +001 305 6472577 []
created: 20110215
changed: 20120402
% whois.lacnic.net accepts only direct match queries.
% Types of queries are: POCs, ownerid, CIDR blocks, IP
% and AS numbers.
After doing this, I attempted another ping but this time I never got a response. I tried a traceroute but it only goes so far before nothing replies:
Hop Hostname IP Time 1 Time 2
7 xe-1-0-1.bx01.mtrl.pq.aliant.net 18.804ms asymm
8 67.69.211.229 26.160ms asymm
9 bxX5-newyork83_POS9-0-0.net.bell.ca 33.098ms asymm
10 peer-XOCommunications_bx5-newyork83.net.bell.ca 32.407ms asymm
11 207.88.14.185.ptr.us.xo.net 32.589ms asymm
12 te-3-0-0.rar3.atlanta-ga.us.xo.net 62.983ms asymm
13 te-4-0-0.rar3.miami-fl.us.xo.net 77.182ms asymm
14 ae0d0.cir1.miami2-fl.us.xo.net 54.436ms asymm
15 216.156.104.58.ptr.us.xo.net 56.359ms asymm
16 ge-3-0-0.usa.nam-core02.columbus-networks.com 55.588ms asymm
17 xe-1-0-0.usa.nmi-teracore02.columbus-networks.com 98.002ms asymm
18 ge-6-0-0.usa.nmi-core01.columbus-networks.com 55.906ms asymm
19 ge-2-0-0.usa.pan-pob-edge02.columbus-networks.com 100.304ms asymm
20 190.242.14.226 105.553ms asymm
21 no reply *
22 no reply *
23 no reply *
24 no reply *
25 no reply *
26 no reply *
27 no reply *
28 no reply *
29 no reply *
30 no reply *
31 no reply *
It doesn’t appear to be associated with Walmart in any way. So my advice to you, if you happen to receive unsolicited text messages from a number unfamiliar to you, that contain a web link, DO NOT click on it! It is some kind of a scam, perpetrated by someone in Panama. BEWARE.
I will be attempting to contact Walmart.com about this.


June 13, 2012 at 1:22 am
[...] Cell Phone scam? Today (June 12, 2012) I received two text messages on my cell phone, from the following numbers: 1-718-679-8931 and 1-718-724-3874, both messages had the following text: ""Congratulations, your […] [...]
June 14, 2012 at 11:18 pm
I also received 2 texts today 1-718-687-3385 and 1-718-679-8931 and I have contacted abuse@walmart.com and let them know what is going on
June 14, 2012 at 11:28 pm
Angel, who is your cell provider? I know someone else who got them and they were on the Rogers network as I am. I tried to contact Rogers about this as well but have yet to receive any response. It almost seems like someone is getting the numbers to text this to, from Rogers. Have they been hacked?
June 15, 2012 at 5:35 pm
I got one today too. Rogers is my provider. I knew there was something wrong the moment I saw a coma in the web address instead of a period. Nothing like spelling errors to point me to a potential scam…
July 29, 2012 at 2:54 am
It’s really amazing how you can do such stuffs on your phone, like pinging it. You’re such a genius dude!